“The snow doesn't give a soft white damn whom it touches.” ― E.E. Cummings

Cherries in the Snow is a short story collection by Jonathan Douglas Duran. To request a review galley please contact via email.


  • “Cherries in the Snow”

A young girl’s troubled father leads her into the woods at dawn.

  • “Phantom Pains”

A man recounts the story of how he lost one of his fingers.

  • “Death Rite”

A family strives to discover who murdered one of their own while they take part in their village’s strange death rite ritual.

  • “A Decent Story” / “An Indecent Story”

Two lovers meet to discuss their relationship and the get-together is related twice, once from each person’s unique point of view.

  • “Roadside Assistance”

Two gangsters in a compromising situation are offered roadside assistance.

  • “Shave and a Haircut”

There are some conversations you should never have while someone holds a razor to your throat.

  • “I Met the Devil”

A fur trapper meets the Devil and falls prey to a tricky proposition.

  • “The Crash”

A stockbroker who lost his livelihood in the stock market crash of 1929 becomes fixated on a department store manager.

  • “Nadja”

The meta-period which punctuates the end of the proceedings.


“The snow doesn’t give a soft white damn whom it touches.” ― E.E. Cummings




The Gas Heart…
is a three-act hoax; it will satisfy only industrialized imbeciles who believe in the existence of men of genius.

Interpreters are requested to give this work the attention due a masterpiece such as Macbeth, but to treat the author – who is not a genius – with no respect AT ALL.

(Note: This work offers no technical innovation whatsoever.)

 constructed by JDD 
 production/mix/master by JDD 
 guitar on track #12 written/performed by Forrest Whitlow